Make too-long game non-fatal
authorH.G. Muller <h.g.muller@hccnet.nl>
Mon, 26 Sep 2011 13:51:49 +0000 (15:51 +0200)
committerH.G. Muller <h.g.muller@hccnet.nl>
Mon, 3 Oct 2011 07:19:19 +0000 (09:19 +0200)
GameEnds is now called when the maximum number of moves is exceeded,
rather than DisplayFatalError. Not sure if this properly terminates the
game in all situations, but DisplayFatalError (after calling GameEnds)
would also wait for the user to confirm the error popup before really
exiting, so that in an unattended automatically running tourney there
was not much fatal, and the entire tourney would in fact be finished.

backend.c

index 1682703..71aa6a5 100644 (file)
--- a/backend.c
+++ b/backend.c
@@ -9420,9 +9420,8 @@ MakeMove(fromX, fromY, toX, toY, promoChar)
         fflush(serverMoves);
     }
 
         fflush(serverMoves);
     }
 
-    if (forwardMostMove+1 > framePtr) { // [HGM] vari: do not run into saved variations
-      DisplayFatalError(_("Game too long; increase MAX_MOVES and recompile"),
-                       0, 1);
+    if (forwardMostMove+1 > framePtr) { // [HGM] vari: do not run into saved variations..
+       GameEnds(GameUnfinished, _("Game too long; increase MAX_MOVES and recompile"), GE_XBOARD);
       return;
     }
     UnLoadPV(); // [HGM] pv: if we are looking at a PV, abort this
       return;
     }
     UnLoadPV(); // [HGM] pv: if we are looking at a PV, abort this